The Giver and a Love-Hate Relationship With Hollywood Book Adaptations #amreading #scifi

In case you’ve been under a rock lately, Hollywood’s latest sci-fi book to film adaptation is going to be Lois Lowery’s The Giver.

normal_book-cover~2

The Giver was one of the first science-fiction / dystopic reads I can remember. It was a grade-school assignment and was actually controversial at the time due to some of the themes the book discusses. I was immediately hooked on the genre, and went from The Giver to Brave New World, Anthem, 1984, and Fahrenheit 911. It started me on the science fiction journey that has become my career. So, when I found out Hollywood was taking The Giver and turning it into a book, I was both elated and very much afraid.

I am elated because I know how many new readers picked up Harry Potter, Cloud Atlas, Princess Bride and Ender’s Game after they were turned into movies. I am all for using mass media to spark and encourage the love of reading. I am afraid because Hollywood has a habit of sensationalizing movies, dumbing down the message and amping up the hype to fill theater seats.

Continue Reading>>>

Leave a Reply

